

Minutes of the Forty-First Annual General Meeting of the Faculty of Occupational Medicine

Held on Wednesday, 9th December 2020 at 17:15 via Teams

1. INTRODUCTION

President Anne de Bono welcomed everyone to the AGM.

2. MINUTES OF THE 2019 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

President Anne de Bono sought approval of the 2019 AGM minutes which are available on the Faculty's website. Dr Ian Aston proposed the acceptance of the minutes and Dr Louise Holden seconded the proposal.

The minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting of the Faculty of Occupational Medicine were duly APPROVED.

3. TO RECEIVE THE 2019 ANNUAL REPORT

President Anne de Bono summarised key aspects of the 2019 Annual Report. After a fairly turbulent time in 2017 and early 2018, the FOM is now in a much better position. Strategic Aims were reviewed and now appear on all papers for every Board and Council meeting.

The Governance changes, which had been voted upon in 2016 and implemented in 2017, have become embedded in the organisation. A smaller Board of Trustees makes key strategic decisions and the Council, chaired by the Academic Dean, discusses and considers professional matters.

The Curriculum Review began in 2019 and this was also the year that SEQOHS came back to its home at FOM. Preparations have begun for a review of the SEQOHS Standards.

The FOM received a record number of entries for the Diploma in Occupational Medicine in 2019.

President Anne de Bono paid tribute to Louise Craig CEO and the FOM staff team who have been working remotely since the start of the pandemic.

A 3-month membership subscription holiday was implemented during the first wave of COVID-19.

Throughout 2019 engagement continued within the wider Medical and Healthcare landscape. FOM and its members have been at the forefront of important issues, involved in work on COVID related-matters including vulnerabilities, fitness for work, work related ill-health, PPE, testing, inequalities and, more recently, vaccines.

4. TO RECEIVE THE REPORT OF THE TREASURER

President Anne de Bono invited the Treasurer Dr Yousef Habab to present the Treasurer's Report.

The 2019 Financial Statements are available on the Faculty's website.

The Board of Trustees is pleased to report that the FOM has achieved an excellent year end surplus position in 2019 of more than £240k and that wider income diversification has significantly improved the FOM's financial health. This stood the FOM in good stead to weather the impacts of Covid-19 in 2020.

Overall, income has increased by 23% since 2018. The greatest increase has been achieved through successfully bringing the SEQOHS Accreditation Scheme back in-house from June 2019, but also through qualifications. and training.

Membership subscriptions in 2019 were not increased by the rate of inflation and remained frozen, as in the two previous years. Despite these measures, the significant increase in income, tight control over expenditure, and diversification of income sources, have brought the FOM into a position of far greater financial stability. The Treasurer thanked CEO Louise Craig and FOM's Head of Finance and Membership Justyna Sugalska for their efforts.

The FOM aims to maintain sufficient free reserves to cover 6 months of operating costs. This was achieved in 2019. However, the emergence of the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020 has resulted in an unprecedented situation that is difficult to accurately predict. Consequently, the FOM Board of Trustees

wishes to carefully monitor cash flows and respond appropriately to minimise disruption to FOM activities.

During 2019 a new system of reporting management accounts by department was introduced, and this provides Trustees with detailed information on income and costs for each activity type undertaken by the FOM. This also assisted Trustees in considering and approving the 2020 budget.

The 2020 budget is based on no increase to membership subscriptions, which have been frozen since 2017 without any increase for inflation. An increase of around 2.1%, in line with inflation, was agreed for all other services provided by the FOM in the 2020 budget, including examination fees and Responsible Officer access fees.

Provision was made in the 2020 budget to begin to improve services for members, including enhanced website features.

Dr Ira Madan proposed the acceptance of the 2019 Annual Report and Dr Mark Groom seconded the proposal. The 2019 Annual Report and Financial Statements were duly APPROVED.

5. TO THANK OUTGOING TRUSTEES

President Anne de Bono expressed her thanks and paid tribute to two long standing Trustees: Dr Ian Torrance and Dr Dil Sen, Academic Dean and Chair of the Council, as both standing are standing down from the Board. Dr Ira Madan will succeed Dr Dil Sen as the new Academic Dean, and Dr de Bono warmly welcomed Dr Madan to her new role.

President Anne de Bono also paid tribute to Dr Steve Boorman who has now stepped down as Chair of the Ethics Committee. Dr Mark Groom has been appointed to succeed Dr Boorman as Chair of the Ethics Committee.

President Anne de Bono congratulated Dr Steve Nimmo, who has been elected as President Elect of the FOM and who will take up office as President in June 2021.

6. PRESENTATION OF NEW MEMBERS, FELLOWS AND HONORARY FELLOWS AND PRIZES

Members

Registrar David Flower presented those admitted for membership during 2020 and they were congratulated by President Anne de Bono.

<u>AFOM</u>

Dr Oliver Cooper
Dr Paul Harris
Dr Magdalena Janas
Dr Asma Khan
Dr Oladapo Olayinka
Dr James Quigley
Dr Stephen Thake
<u>MFOM</u>
Dr Emma Bennett
Dr Jillian Crabbe
Dr Paul Obi
Dr Clare Leeds
Dr Paul McGovern
Dr Paula Nunes
Dr Catherine Wilkinson
Dr Yue Zhou
<u>Fellows</u>
Fellows are elected by the Board, on the recommendation of the Fellowship Committee, for significant contribution that is both wide in scope and far reaching in impact. Fellows participate in the life and work of the Faculty.
Dr David Flower congratulated each of the following new Fellows:
Dr Kevin Bailey
Dr Julian Eyears
Dr Cornelius Grobler
Dr Steven Malleson
Dr Soodesh Reetoo
Dr Isam Rushtom

Dr Katherine Targett

Dr Anna Trakoli

Honorary Fellows

Honorary Fellows are persons of eminence in the field of Occupational Medicine who may not necessarily be doctors.

Honorary Fellowship was awarded to Professor Andrew Goddard, Consultant in Gastroenterology and the current President of the Royal College of Physicians of London.

7. ACADEMIC PRIZES

Registrar David Flower presented the academic prize.

William Taylor Award

This prize is awarded for the highest MFOM Part 2 mark and the highest overall mark achieved. The William Taylor Award was presented to:

Dr James Quigley

8. QUESTIONS FROM THE FLOOR

President Anne de Bono asked members to record any questions that they may have in the message box. No questions were raised.

9. CLOSE OF PROCEEDINGS

President Anne de Bono warmly thanked members for attending the 2020 AGM, wished everyone a Merry Christmas and closed the proceedings.

Name of President:	
Signature of President:	Date: