

4 May 2010

Welcome to the FOM Newsletter.

#### In this issue...

## Annual Report and Annual General Meeting

The full 2009 Annual Report

http://www.facoccmed.ac.uk/library/docs/annrep09.pdf

and Summary version <a href="http://www.facoccmed.ac.uk/library/docs/annrp09s.pdf">http://www.facoccmed.ac.uk/library/docs/annrp09s.pdf</a> are now available in the members' area of the website, as is the agenda for the Annual General Meeting on 27 May 2010

http://www.facoccmed.ac.uk/library/docs/agm09\_agenda.pdf.

### Officer and Board appointments

The following appointments have recently been confirmed:

The Board has appointed Ray Johnston as Registrar, to succeed Lisa Birrell with effect from the Annual General Meeting on 27 May 2010. Ray has worked for the Civil Aviation Authority since 1990, where he has been Head of the Aviation Health Unit since 2006. His breadth of service to the Faculty over many years includes membership of the Board, Fellowship Committee and the AFOM and DAvMed Advisory Groups. Ray has been a trainer and examiner (AFOM, DAvMed and DOccMed) and is a dissertation assessor and a member of the Part 2 MFOM Advisory Group.

Ian Aston has been appointed by the Board as Director of Training, to succeed Jeremy Owen with effect from the AGM in May. Ian has been a consultant occupational physician in the NHS in Nottingham since 1995. He has been a member of the AFOM Advisory Group and is currently the Regional Specialty Advisor (RSA) representative on the Faculty Board and on the Fellowship Committee. Ian has a wealth of experience as an RSA, educational supervisor, as an examiner and dissertation assessor, and member of his local Deanery Specialty Training Committee.

Sarah Page has joined the Faculty Board as the lay member nominated by the TUC, succeeding Hugh Robertson. She is a research officer in Prospect's Research and Specialist Services, where she leads on health, safety and wellbeing and has a role in energy policy. Sarah has worked in the health service as a nurse, in the

fire service as a fire safety officer and in the civil service as HM Inspector for the Health and Safety Executive. In 2001 she undertook a fact-finding project in Australia to research the powers of Australian safety representatives, notably Provisional Improvement Notices ('PINs'). She has a BSc (Hons) in Occupational Hygiene and a PGDip in Occupational Safety & Health. Sarah has long been a health and safety representative, firstly for NUPE (now UNISON) in the 1980s and later for Prospect, until the move to her current, full-time post in January 2008.

As these three take up their new posts, we would like to record our thanks to their predecessors who are standing down: Lisa Birrell, Jeremy Owen and Hugh Robertson, all of whom have made an invaluable contribution to the Faculty over the last three to five years. We wish them all well.

## Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians, London

The Faculty is pleased to announce that the following members have been awarded Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians of London:

Ian Lawson, Jeremy Owen, Dil Sen, Alastair Scott and Robert Thornton.

We congratulate them on this well-deserved award.

# Employers' Guide to Engaging an Occupational Health Physician

An employer's guide to engaging an occupational health physician has just been published by the Faculty and can be downloaded free of charge. <a href="http://www.facoccmed.ac.uk/library/docs/empopguid.pdf">http://www.facoccmed.ac.uk/library/docs/empopguid.pdf</a>

#### Standards for Occupational Health Services

We have hard copies of the standards document <a href="http://www.facoccmed.ac.uk/library/docs/standardsjan2010.pdf">http://www.facoccmed.ac.uk/library/docs/standardsjan2010.pdf</a> to distribute free of charge to the occupational health community. If you have a conference or event where it would be appropriate to distribute copies, we can arrange to have some sent to you. Please contact: <a href="mailto:anna.marsland@facoccmed.ac.uk">anna.marsland@facoccmed.ac.uk</a>

With best wishes

Micky Coates

Nicky Coates Chief Executive