Home » Clinical Excellence Awards » Peter Taylor award winner announced
last updated:21/06/2019 @ 9:28 am
Print this page

Peter Taylor award winner announced

Dr Emma Giblin, a FOM trainee, was presented the Peter Taylor award by FOM President, Anne de Bono at the jointly run FOM and SOM Occupational Health 2019 conference earlier this week.

The award was established in 1987 to commemorate the achievements of the late Peter Taylor, a former Dean of the Faculty of Occupational Medicine and the President of the Society of Occupational Medicine. Each year since, the award has been presented to the FOM trainee that has submitted the best dissertation as agreed by a FOM and SOM panel. The assessment criteria include scientific rigor and contribution to occupational medicine practice.

To acknowledge the achievement, Dr Emma Giblin presented her dissertation, ‘Systematic Review on the Occupational Aspects of the Management of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome’ to conference delegates.

When asked how it felt to receive the award, Dr Giblin commented: “It was quite a shock! It means a huge amount as I put my heart and soul into the project and it is on a subject that I feel very passionately about. Chronic fatigue syndrome often receives bad press and it is wonderful to see my work and indeed a systematic review on the topic receiving credit. Ira Madan was a fantastic supervisor and without her help and support I could not have done this.”

Added: 21/06/2019 Posted In: Clinical Excellence Awards